School Endowment Funds

Leading the Way

The Community Foundation of Lorain County is very proud to be the first Community Foundation in the United States to establish school endowment funds.

In 1983 Lorain Schools Curriculum Supervisor James McGlamery and Community Foundation Executive Director Jeptha Carrell were instrumental in developing legislation allowing schools to deposit a portion of their operating budgets into an endowed fund for future support. Then in 1990, a matching grant from the Ford and MacArthur Foundations enabled all school districts in Lorain County to establish funds.

Distributions from school endowments provide additional dollars to support programs that directly benefit students. Programs such as artists-in-residence, field trips, camping trips, and scholarships are all provided through School Endowment Funds.



school districts


in assets

Participating Districts

Amherst Exempted Village Schools, Avon Local School District, Avon Lake City Schools, Clearview Local Schools, Columbia Local School District, Educational Service Center of Lorain County, Elyria City School District, Firelands Local School, Keystone Local School District, Lorain City Schools, Lorain County JVS, Midview Local School District, North Ridgeville City Schools, Oberlin City Schools, Open Door Christian School, Sheffield-Sheffield Lake City Schools, St. Mary Catholic School, and Wellington Exempted Village Schools.