Affiliate Funds

Youth Fund

Fostering a Culture of Philanthropy in the Classroom and Beyond

Led by the vision and generosity of past Board Chair, Benjamin Norton, Community Foundation Directors established the Youth Fund in April of 1998. The Youth Fund comprises 8th through 12th graders from across Lorain County who meet monthly to learn about the Community Foundation, grantmaking, development, and issues affecting youth. The teens review their own grant proposals and make funding recommendations to the Community Foundation’s Board of Directors. 

We are currently accepting applications.

Service-Learning Grants

When the Youth Fund was entering its fifth year, Community Foundation staff felt strongly that its grantmaking should be more narrowly focused on the area of expertise of its members – the classroom. During the 2002-2003 school year, a request for Service-Learning grants was developed and the Youth Fund approved 34 projects totaling over $5,500 in grants. These Service-Learning grants continue today and allow educators throughout Lorain County to better their students, their schools, and their community.


invested in the community.

Our Impact

Donations to the Youth Fund allow local students to have an impact not only in their schools but also within their community. The learning opportunities presented during this experience fosters a life-long commitment to philanthropy and giving.

Give Now

Youth Fund Grants

Application Deadline: TBD
Board Decision: TBD

The Youth Fund awards grants to non-profit organizations and teachers who provide youth development and educational opportunities to youth in Lorain County. Areas of interest include afterschool enrichment, community service, arts and culture, and many more.

Youth Fund Board

Alexandra Avon
Alexia Avon
Amy Firelands
Ava, Secretary Vermilion
Bailey North Ridgeville
Brianna, Vice President Elyria Early College
Carolina Avon
Carson Amherst Steele
Isabella, President Elyria Catholic
Lane Lorain County JVS
Lindey Amherst Steele
Luke Vermilion
Owen Avon Lake
Savannah Avon Lake
Savannah Clearview
Solomon Lake Ridge Academy
Syncere Lorain Prep Academy


youth have participated