Toni Morrison Essay Contest for Young People

Congratulations to our 2021

Toni Morrison Scholars!

2021 Theme: The Site of Memory

In the narrative, The Site of Memory, Toni Morrison reflects upon the importance of people, places, family, and the familiar details of everyday people’s extraordinary lives. Toni Morrison used her imagination to write stories about the lives of ordinary individuals in a unique way. This year’s writing prompt is: Reflect upon how have people and places informed and sustained you during this pandemic.

A special THANK YOU to our partners.

This essay contest was organized to harness the energy, creativity, and initiative of our hometown hero Toni Morrison. Organized by: African American Community Fund, Community Foundation of Lorain County, Lorain Historical Society, Lorain Public Library System, Lorain County Alliance of Black School Educators, Lorain County Urban League, Lorain County Section of National Council of Negro Women.

Checkout some of our 2020 Lorain County Toni Morrison Essay Contest for Young People winners in this Toni Morrison Special.

Toni Morrison Essay Contest for Young People 2020 Winners.